A Wonderful Week

 

 

 

 

IMG_3788

It has been a truly wonderful week, with not much time to update my blog so here is a resume of the week:

Monday

It was back to my teaching roots when I was asked to deliver a lesson to Year 12’s at Rainham Mark Grammar School on Moral Dilemmas.

The class were fantastic and entered into the debate with enthusiasm, I really enjoyed myself and thank the staff and pupils for their warm welcome.

Photograph above shows me with the class and

Rehman Chishti MP who spoke to them on International matters earlier.

 

Tuesday

 

A brilliant Try Angle Awards organised by the Medway Youth Parliament at the Central Theatre in Chatham.

Celebrating the achievement of our young people here in Medway and it was great to see the Kent Police and Crime Commissioner Ann Barnes supporting the event.

I never cease to be amazed and proud of the achievements of our young people and all of the nominees are winners!

IMG_3719

Wednesday

 

First stop was to address and participate in the Young Carers Conference, organised by the Medway Youth Trust.

A fantastic conference supported by many partners.

MYT3

 

In the evening I attended the Awards Evening at

Rainham School for Girls. It was , as usual, a brilliant evening celebrating the achievements of pupils from all year groups.

This year the guest speaker was Professor Amanda Vickery who gave an inspirational and entertaining talk.

I am pictured here with the brilliant Executive Head Teacher Karen Roberts.

IMG_3720

Thursday

On Thursday I visited All Faiths Community School in Strood to see their Seeds to Soil Day, a big thank you to my guide Tom.

In the evening I attended and addressed the Medway Governors Association at Brompton Academy.

 

Friday

I visited Thames View Primary School in Rainham to congratulate and celebrate their recent GOOD Ofsted

IMG_3724

 

Later I visited Oaklands School in Walderslade along with local Ward Councillor and fellow Cabinet colleague Adrian Gulvin. In addition to speaking to both staff and pupils we were also treated to the spectacle of the Red Arrows flying overhead which thrilled the children immensely.

Thank you to the brilliant new Head Teacher Barry Symons for such a warm welcome.

IMG_3730

 

Saturday

I had the honour of addressing the Medway Ghanaian Association at their 55th Anniversary Republic Celebrations at the White Road Community Centre on Education and Aspiration.

In the company of the Deputy Mayor and Mayoress of Medway Cllr Steve Iles we were treated to a wonderfully entertaining evening.

IMG_3768Wow! a wonderful week, I cannot wait to see what happens next week.

Whatever you are doing, I wish you all a fantastic week.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

