A Saturday night under the stars with our Medway Duke of Edinburgh Award young people.

fleece

I had the privilege of visiting one of the Duke of Edinburgh Award campsites near Bredgar last night to meet the volunteers and some of our Medway young people taking part in their Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award.

I arrived just as our young people had arrived, started to put up their tents and cook their evening meal.

After a 20 kilometre hike through the countryside I would have thought that they would be exhausted but they all seemed chirpy and welcomed me into their groups.

I was really pleased to be presented with my DofE Fleece on arrival as it turned decidedly nippy as the sun went down!

I am photographed above with the Team Leader Alex Chinn who presented me with the fleece.

Suitably attired I then toured the campsite to meet our young people, below I joined pupils from Chatham Grammar School for Girls and helped them prepare their evening meal of pasta.

CGS

Then it was off to meet the pupils of The Thomas Aveling School in Rochester and a pupil from The Howard School for Boys who were keen to allow me to taste the pasta that they were cooking. As the young people have to carry all of their equipment , pasta appeared to be the food of choice!

Thomas AvelingA late arrival was the team from the Bishop of Rochester Academy who gratefully let me assist in putting up their tents, I do hope that the tents stayed up all night!

BORA

Then it was off to meet the pupils from Rochester Girls Grammar School who had finished their meal and were on to seconds!

I also noticed a plentiful supply of chocolate bars to keep them going throughout the night!

As they had finished their meal I helped them plan their expedition route for Sunday.

RGS

 

By the time I had visited all of our pupils , the sun had set and I went back to the hall to join the fantastic Duke of Edinburgh Award volunteers for a fish and chip supper. I was quite relieved as I am not a big pasta fan.

I am photographed below with the volunteers who give up so much of their free time to help and encourage our Medway Young People to achieve their different awards.

 

volunteers

By the time we had finished our meal, it was dark and nippy, given the choice of spending the night laying in a field or in my bed then I confess that I took the easier option.

As I drove away from the campsite , I took one last look at the glowing tent lights surrounded by young people who had bonded together as teams building friendship and fellowship, and thought , if only I was 14 again, but I am not, so it was home to bed!

 

Thank you so much to all of our wonderful Duke of Edinburgh volunteers , you do a fantastic job on our behalf.

Congratulations to all of our participating young people, I look forward to seeing you all receive your Duke of Edinburgh Awards next year.

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

