Cllr David Carr resigns as Portfolio Holder for Community Safety and Customer

Conservative Group logo

News from the Medway Conservative website

Press release posted on Friday, 31 May 2013

Cllr David Carr said:

“After considering my position in the Cabinet I have decided to step down for the good of the Council.

“This was not an easy decision nor one that I have taken lightly but I consider it the right one. The language I used about the travelling community was inappropriate and ill considered and I apologise most profusely for any offence caused.

“The Community Safety and Customer Contact portfolio involves significant partnership working and relationship building and I feel that under the current circumstances this would not be possible for me to do.

“I would like to draw a line under this event and focus on my other council duties.”

Cllr Rodney Chambers said:

“Cllr Carr was appointed to the Cabinet as a result of his effective chairing of a number of council committees, most recently that of the Business Support Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

“However, Cllr Carr does realise that the language used about the travelling community was unacceptable and has offered his resignation for the good of the Council which I have accepted.

“Shortly after receiving Cllr Carr’s resignation I appointed Cllr Hicks as Portfolio Holder for Community Safety and Customer Contact.

“Cllr Hicks is an experienced councillor and his recent work in chairing the Fair Access to Credit Task group has been first rate. Cllr Hicks is a welcome addition to the Cabinet and I wish him well in his new role.”

ENDS

Tags:

Leave a Reply

