Mike retires as a Magistrate

Following instructions from the Senior Presiding Judge , I regret that I have had to take early retirement from the North Kent Magistrates Bench and transfer to the Supplemental List.

I have had to make the choice between the Bench and my work in the Community Safety Partnership.

I do hope that you will understand my desire to continue my work as the Cabinet Member for Community Safety and Customer Contact on Medway Council and as Chair of the Medway Community Safety Partnership and Vice Chair of the new Shadow Police and Crime Panel.

I have found my time as a Magistrate extremely fulfilling and I have enjoyed immensely the fellowship and support of colleagues both past and present.

My thanks also to our dedicated court staff , secretariat and legal clerks, all them, without exception have been brilliant.

I must also include in this Probation, YOT, the CPS and of course the Advocates, all of them offering support.

The photo above shows me being presented with an engraved paperweight by the Chair of the North Kent Bench Mrs Sandra Paine JP,

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

